Swarathma’s Blog


Masa-la Tadka: Varun on his Guitar Workshop Experience | Part II
March 18, 2010, 6:06 am
Filed under: Experiences | Tags: , , , , ,

Our second session was with Masa Sumide from Japan, he was a really funny person. He would speak in a very funny and an interesting manner. OK, I said to myself, looks like I did a good thing by moving on to the next session: I had never seen anyone playing blues like him with an altered tuning. Yes, this time it was a total different tuning again. He taught us a little song that he had composed which went through some nice chord progression and inversions that I had never thought of. All the while I was thinking, did these guys ever try playing with a normal tuning? Did they learn the guitar with a different tuning by any chance? Wait, do they tune guitars first and then play or play and then tune as and when they wanted to hit certain notes which seemed impossible with a normal tuning? Too many questions! I continued to learn how much ever I could learn within the less time we had hoping I would remember it all by the time I reached home. The trouble was that I was already confused, and had started forgetting what I learnt from Don Ross!
At lunch I quickly wrote down a few points I’d learned that morning, lest I forgot them later. Post lunch was Sandor Szabo, and as I tried out some lovely Yamaha acoustic guitars on display there I wondered what he would be like.

Check this video of Masa Sumide out:

Read the first part in the series on the Guitar Workshops. Text: Varun | Edited by Jishnu

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

